NCSSMA © 2014  Privacy Policy

NCSSMA Hall of Fame

The National Council of Social Security Management Associations recognizes and honors the service and achievements of individuals who promote the interests of NCSSMA and support their communities. These include the following awards (click on the award category to view listing of recipients):

Collins Award


The Joseph P. Collins Award was established by the National Council of Social Security Management Associations at its Annual Meeting in 1978 in memory of the first President of the Council, Joseph P. Collins. The award is given each year at the National Council Annual meeting to the member who, during the preceding year, has done the most to further the objectives of the National Council. It is the highest award presented by the National Council.


Guidelines, Criteria and Nomination Information

Community Service Award


The Community Service Award was created by the National Council to recognize and encourage the public service that Social Security Management Association members provide to their communities. This award is presented annually to a management association member chosen by the National Council for his/her involvement in community affairs, volunteer services, civic clubs, humanitarian deeds, etc. It is traditionally given at the Annual Meeting.  One of the most important activities of the Professional Relations Committee is the recommendation of the Community Service Award recipient each year.


Guidelines and Criteria      Nomination Form

Special Achievement Award


The Special Achievement Award is presented, from time to time, to members who have made extraordinary achievements on behalf of the National Council and who have had a major impact on the service we provide to our members. This award is traditionally given at the Annual Meeting.

Jim Burkert Membership Development Award


The Jim Burkert Membership Development Award is named in honor of Jim Burkert, the first Chairperson of our NCSSMA Membership Committee.  Jim was a huge supporter of membership development, so it is very fitting that this award was named in his honor.  This award is primarily intended to recognize the recruiting efforts made by Area Reps and State VPs at the Area level. Other officers can also be recognized on a case-by-case basis if they have made substantial contributions on a regional level.  The award will be presented annually up to the top five area recruiters, without regard to regional affiliation, who have recruited at least five new members.  The regional management associations may nominate their top qualifying recruiters each year to the membership committee, which will make the final selections. Plaques will be presented at the NCSSMA annual meeting to those who are present, and regional presidents will accept on behalf of those who are not.  The presidents will then present the award to their winner back in their home region.

Wrong password.