NCSSMA © 2014  Privacy Policy


National Council of

Social Security Management Associations


Monday, May 9, 2016


NCSSMA Members,


At the NCSSMA Annual Meeting, three awards are presented to recognize contributions made to the organization and community.  


•       The Joseph P. Collins Award was established by the National Council of Social Security Management Associations (NCSSMA) at the annual meeting in 1978 in memory of the first President of the Council, Joseph P. Collins. The resolution establishing the award states that it will be given each year at the National Council meeting to the member who, during the preceding year, has done the most to further the objectives of the National Council. It is the highest award presented by the National Council.


•       The Community Service Award was established as part of the National Council’s efforts to recognize and encourage the public service that NCSSMA members provide to their communities. This award is presented annually to a management association member chosen by the National Council for his/her involvement in community affairs, volunteer services, civic clubs, humanitarian deeds, etc.


•       The Jim Burkert Membership Development Award was established in 2015 as part of National Council’s efforts to recognize the efforts made by Area Representatives and State Vice Presidents in membership recruiting.  This award is presented annually to the top five recruiters, without regard to regional affiliation, who have recruited at least five or more new members.  


It is that time of year to be submitting nominations of your fellow association members.  If you are interested in nominating a regional association member for one or more of the above awards, please contact your regional president.  Award nominations are due May 31st, 2016.


This year these three awards will be presented at the annual meeting in Indianapolis, IN to be held August 15th – 18th, 2016. You can find more information, including past recipients of these awards, at NCSSMA Hall of Fame.


Christopher Detzler

NCSSMA Vice-President

Wrong password.